Duane Webster receives 2008 Lippincott Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

(312) 280-3247


For Immediate Release,

February 12, 2008

Duane Webster receives 2008 Lippincott Award

CHICAGO - Duane E. Webster, executive director of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), is this year's recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Joseph W. Lippincott Award. The award, founded in 1938, is given annually to an individual for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 donated by the award founder's grandson, Joseph W. Lippincott, III.

"The jury for the 2008 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is pleased to honor Duane Webster for his many accomplishments during a long and distinguished career at the Association of Research Libraries," said Winston Tabb, dean of university libraries and Sheridan director at Johns Hopkins University.

During his nearly 20 years as ARL's Executive Director, Mr. Webster has played a leading role in the development, training and mentoring of librarians who are the current and future leaders of America's research libraries and has also shown an unwavering commitment to increasing diversity through the establishment of such innovative opportunities as ARL's Diversity Scholars Program.

"Among the achievements specially noted by the Lippincott jury and the numerous colleagues who wrote in support of this award were Mr. Webster's vision and leadership in launching, promoting and supporting such initiatives as the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) and the Library Copyright Alliance (LCA) that are having a strong and lasting impact on America's libraries, scholarly communications, our nation's public policies and the people we serve; and Mr. Webster's tireless efforts to nurture partnerships with other national and international library associations as well as organizations in the higher education community for the benefit of all libraries. Taken together, these manifold achievements demonstrate the 'distinguished service to the profession of librarianship' that Mr. Lippincott wished to honor when he established this award in 1938."

embers of the 2008 Joseph W. Lippincott Award Jury are: Trevor A. Dawes, Princeton University Library; George I. Paganelis, California State University, Sacramento Library; Scott T. Perry, University of Chicago Library; Carol Lynn Schuetz, Baylor University; and Li Zhang, Mississippi State University, Mitchell Memorial Library.

The Lippincott Award will be presented on Tuesday, July, 1, at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2009 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is Dec. 1. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site: