Lawrence Adrian Moore receives 2008 Haycock Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

(312) 280-3247

For Immediate Release,

March 4, 2008

Lawrence Adrian Moore receives 2008 Haycock Award

Larry Moore, executive director of the Ontario Library Association, a post he held for 24 years until his retirement in February of this year, has been named the recipient of the 2008 American Library Association (ALA) Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship, which honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching, and/or writing.

“Moore was selected for his quiet leadership and diplomacy that have led to greater public recognition and appreciation of librarianship,” said chair Susan DiMattia, consultant, DiMattia Associates, “and for his passionate support of intellectual freedom and his commitment to mentoring.”

Among the achievements specially noted is his ability to think strategically and to apply that strategic thinking in his relationships with government. During his 40 years of devotion to making the world a better place through libraries of all types he participated in creating the document “Partners-in-Action: the School Library Resource Centre in the Curriculum.” It influenced a movement that has worldwide support to this day.

Michael Burris, executive director of the British Columbia Library Association, said, “Larry has been a leader in working in the broader community to show that libraries make a difference and that by working with libraries communities are made stronger.”

Dadie Perlov, consultant, CMG in New York City, said, “Watching Larry hatch and implement an inconceivable wealth of innovations all geared to furthering the public appreciation of libraries and librarians and, perhaps most of all, giving librarians all over the province and, lately, all over the rest of Canada and the United States, the courage to do the same continues to amaze me!”

Moore embodies what this award was created for; he is an inspiring teacher, empowering leader, supportive mentor and creative visionary.

The annual award, consisting of $1000 and a citation of achievement, will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif., in June.

Members of the 2008 Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship are: Susan S. DiMattia, DiMattia Associates, Stamford, Conn.; Laurel M. Bliss, San Diego State University Library; Cathy Martyniak, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.; Tobi Oberman, Skokie Public Library, Ill.; and Susan E. Stroyan, Illinois State University Milner Library, Normal, Ill.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2009 Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship is Dec. 1. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site: