2008 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award winners announced

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

(312) 280-3247


For Immediate Release,

March 3, 2008

2008 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award winners announced

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award. This year the winners are: A. Jade Alburo, librarian for Southeast Asian Studies, UCLA, Los Angeles, Calif.; Anne C. Behler, information literacy librarian, Penn State University Libraries, University Park, Pa; Sally Daniels, library media specialist, Cicero-North Syracuse High School, Cicero, N.Y.; Ciara Healy, librarian, Augusta Technical College, Augusta, Ga.; Laura Kortz, virtual services librarian, New Jersey City University, Jersey City, N.J.; Sarah Elizabeth Miller, visiting electronic resources librarian, Illinois Wesleyan University, Bloomington, Ill; John J. Meier, science librarian, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.; Margaux DelGuidice, school library media specialist, Caroline G. Atkinson School, Freeport, N.Y.; Kevin W. Merriman, acquisitions librarian, Earl K. Long Library, New Orleans, La, and Alice Wasielewski, reference librarian, University of Kentucky Libraries, Lexington, Ky.

They represent various types of library organizations, including academic, public, school and state libraries, and multiple position classifications and hail from eight different states from New York to Louisiana.

Annually, 10 awards, each in the amount of $1,000, are presented to professional librarians who are members of the American Library Association, to enable them to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Each candidate has to complete an application form, which includes an essay on how conference attendance would promote their professional development. The essays are evaluated for clarity of content, clearness of goals and the benefits of attendance, commitment to ALA and the library profession, enthusiasm, financial need and potential for growth.

“This year's applicant pool was extremely competitive. The opportunity to award these candidates the EBSCO Conference Sponsorship will dramatically enhance their careers,” said Kristin Whitehair, award committee chair. “Additionally, these candidates have historically served the library community and will continue to at the Annual Conference this summer.”

The recipients will be featured in a photographic exhibit of award winners near the ALA Registration Area at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, Calif., and will be hosted at an EBSCO Breakfast, Sunday, June 29.

EBSCO and ALA have partnered for many years in this special program, which has enabled many librarians to attend the annual conference and to benefit from their interaction with other colleagues in the field.

The 2008 EBSCO Conference Sponsorship jury members are: Kristin Whitehair, biomedical librarian/School of Nursing Liaison, University of Kansas Medical Center Dykes Library, Kansas City, Kan.; Larry P. Alford, Temple University Paley Library, Philadelphia, Pa.; Richard Terry Chaffin, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Fla.; Li Chen, Southern Polytechnic State University, Marietta, Ga.; and James LaRue, Douglas County Libraries, Castle Rock, Colo.

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2009 EBSCO Award is December 1. Guidelines and application forms are available at