Spokane Moms to be honored with Crystal Apple

Contact: Melissa B. Jones
AASL Communications Specialist


For Immediate Release,
April 22, 2008

Spokane Moms to be honored with Crystal Apple<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />

CHICAGO - The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) is pleased to announce that AASL president Sara Kelly Johns has selected Lisa Layera Brunkan, Denette Hill and Susan McBurney, also referred to as the "Spokane Moms," as the recipients of the 2008 Crystal Apple Award. The award is given at the discretion of the AASL president to an individual or group that has had a significant impact on school library media programs and students.

In her recommendation, Johns specifically cited the dedicated parents for their "dedication to strong school library media programs and equal access to the 21st-century skills for all students."

"The 'Spokane Moms' successfully spearheaded a drive to get new funding for school libraries into the Washington state budget," said Johns. "Their efforts sent a message to the nation about the significant connection between school library media programs and the academic achievement and lifelong learning of students."

The 2008 Crystal Apple Award will be presented to Brunkan, Hill and McBurney during the President's Program from 10:30 a.m. to noon on Saturday, June 28, at the 2008 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. For more information about this event and more AASL programs in Anaheim, visit http://www.ala.org/aasl/annual.

The American Association of School Librarians, www.aasl.org, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), promotes the improvement and extension of library media services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library media field.