$5,000 Award offered for improving library workers' salaries, status

Contact: Jennifer Grady


(312) 280-2424



For Immediate Release

September 30, 2008

The American Library Association-Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA) is seeking nominees for a $5,000 award, courtesy of the SirsiDynix Corp.

Nominees will include individuals and organizations that have made a positive change in the salaries or status of librarians and/or support staff. The Award Jury is looking forward to receiving the stories of champions that have had a local, regional or national impact.

Each candidate must have three nominations, using the electronic application form at
www.ala-apa.org/salaries/sirsidynixnominationform.html. The deadline is Friday, Dec. 12.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Award Jury, chaired by Linda Dobb, of the California State University Library East Bay, at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting in January 2009 in Denver, Colo. The winner(s) will be honored at the Annual Conference in June 2009 in Chicago.

The Award Jury encourages the library community to nominate staff and libraries of all sizes and types that are actively working to secure equitable pay for people in librarianship. Please submit three strong letters of support, since only the first three received will be reviewed. Self-nominations are permitted. Supporting documents may be
e-mailed to ALA-APA, faxed to (312) 280-5013 or mailed to SirsiDynix Award, ALA-APA, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611.

The recipient of the award does not have to be an ALA member or a current or past library staff member. The the award recipient's achievement(s) must be notable in improving the pay and status of library workers. Officers of the ALA or the ALA-Allied Professional Association are not eligible for the award, nor are members of the Jury, ALA-APA Standing Committee on the Salaries and Status of Library Workers or employees of SirsiDynix. Information about last year’s winners is available at the website:
www.ala-apa.org/salaries/sirsidynixaward.html. The other members of the committee are ALA members Kathleen Hanselmann and Alice Knapp.

The ALA-APA Dynix Award
Jury and employees of the SirsiDynix Corporation are not eligible for this award. The
SirsiDynix Corporation is a leading provider of information technology to libraries and consortia worldwide.

For more information, contact Jenifer Grady, Director, ALA-APA at