YALSA offers read-alikes for “Breaking Dawn”


News
For Immediate Release:
July 29, 2008

YALSA offers read-alikes for “Breaking Dawn”<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

CHICAGO - Bella Swan’s saga draws to a close with the Aug. 2 release of “Breaking Dawn,” the final book of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga. But the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), can help parents, librarians and educators keep the attention of teens hooked on Bella and her romances with vampire Edward and werewolf Jacob with read-alikes and resources for planning teen-focused programs.

“The Twilight series has many elements with high appeal to teens—romance, forbidden love, isolation and supernatural beings,” said Sarah Cornish Debraski, YALSA president. “Teens are caught up in the story, and they can't wait to find out what happens. As teens finish highly anticipated books, they often turn to their librarians, asking to them to find more books like the series they love. With the Twilight saga ending with this book, ‘Breaking Dawn’ will inspire teen readers to find more titles ‘just like it.’”

Teens have made it clear they enjoy books about vampires or dark themes, said Karen Brooks-Reese, chair of YALSA’s 2009 Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults (PPYA) committee. Meyer’s popular series, however, is grounded in a typical teen’s reality, which speaks to its appeal.

“There’s something very appealing about a book in which a perfectly average, klutzy teen turns out to be so very special,” said Brooks-Reese. “It encourages teens to look past their own surface qualities to see what makes them unique.”

Brooks-Reese points to the nominations for the 2009 PPYA list “Dead, Dying and the Undead” as a starting point to find books similar to “Breaking Dawn.” This list of recommended reading is meant to encourage teens to explore the often mysterious world of death and those who experience it—and those who come back.

“Teens are drawn to the dramatic, the gothic, the morbid,” Brooks-Reese said. “Many of us fondly remember reading through Lurlene McDaniel’s books, many of which deal with terminal illness, and as the continued popularity of Annette Curtis Klause’s books shows, vampires never go out of style.”

The full list of 2009 nominations, as well as other PPYA themed lists, can be found at www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists/poppaper. The final 2009 lists will be announced at ALA’s 2009 Midwinter Meeting, Jan. 23-28, 2009, in Denver, Colo. Programming ideas are also available on the YALSA wiki at:

http://wikis.ala.org/yalsa/index.php/Calendar_of_Teen_Programming_Ideas#Breaking_Dawn_
Celebrations_.26_Events
.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has been the world leader in selecting books, films and audiobooks for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390, or e-mail, yalsa@ala.org.