Kimberly Sanders

Program Officer, Education & Scholarships

ALA, Human Resource Development & Recruitment (HRDR)

800-545-2433 x4279

For Immediate Release

July 29, 2008

2008 Christopher J. Hoy/ERT Scholarship recipient named

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) has named Kathryn Ruth Pettegrew of Camp Hill, Pa. as the 2008 recipient of the Christopher J. Hoy/ERT Scholarship.

The $5,000 scholarship was established by a donation from Hoy’s family and the ALA Exhibits Round Table. It is awarded to those pursuing a master’s degree in library and information studies. Hoy was the director of ALA Conference Services for more than 20 years.

“While researching my M.A. thesis, I developed a great appreciation for librarians and realized that librarianship would allow me to apply my academic background in practical ways,” said Pettegrew, who first considered a career in library science at the recommendation of an advisor in Near Eastern Languages at Ohio State.

She currently manages the circulation and reserves desk at Dickinson College Library. Her responsibilities include coordinating the reserves, supervising student workers and developing training modules for student supervisors and workers. She had the opportunity to present some of these training methods at the SirsiDynix SuperConference in April.

Pettegrew’s career goal is to pursue work that combines her previous studies in languages, history and archaeology with academic librarianship.

Pettegrew attends Clarion University.