Contact: Linda Mays


(312) 280-1398


For Immediate Release

July 22, 2008

ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarship winners

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the 2008 recipients of the Frederic G. Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarships.

The scholarships are awarded annually to students who plan to enter ALA-accredited programs, obtain a master’s degree in library science and specialize in library service to children.

This year’s Melcher Scholarship winners are Shauna Masella, Portland, Ore., and Aileen Sanchez, Waltham, Mass.

Masella and Sanchez will receive $6,000 from the ALSC, made possible by contributions received in memory of Frederic G. Melcher.

This year’s Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship winners are Evan Bush, Athens, Ga., Emily Hersh, Austin, Texas, Christina Larrechea, Visalia, Calif. and Wendy Lee, Downey, Calif.

Each Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship recipient will receive $6,500. The award is made possible through a generous contribution from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., of Jacksonville, Ill.

Already a primary-grades teacher of reading and math to students with learning difficulties, Bush plans to continue working with young children in a library setting. He will attend the University of Alabama.

A seventh-grade teacher, Hersh plans to be a school librarian who collaborates with teachers to educate students about information literacy and the research process. She will attend the University of Texas at Austin.

Currently a middle school library media teacher, Larrechea will pursue her library degree to better help students become more independent users of information for lifelong learning. She will attend San Jose State University.

Now teaching in an elementary education school, Lee plans to be a children’s librarian who focuses on multi-cultural and multilingual literacy. She is currently attending San Jose State University.

First expanding library services for a rural community through outreach in elementary schools and then in the public library is Masella’s plan of work as a children’s librarian. She will attend the University of Wisconsin - Madison.

As a children’s librarian in a public library, Sanchez will concentrate on programming and services that foster early literacy. She will attend Simmons College.

Members of the scholarship committee were very impressed with the caliber of applicants. “Each and every recipient is quite excited to receive the scholarship and to be embarking on a career in children’s librarianship,” committee chair Alan Bern said.

Applicants must be United States or Canadian citizens. Recipients are expected to become members of ALA and are required to accept a position in the field of library service to children for at least one year following graduation.

In addition to Bern, of Berkeley, Calif., committee members are: Marian Creamer of Portland, Ore.; Julie Dietzel-Glair, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.; Kerry Gleason, Wilmington Public Library, Wilmington, Del.; and Mark Wolfe, Free Library of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Penn. Applications for the 2009 scholarships will be available on the ALA Web site beginning in October 2008, at , or send an e-mail to