Nominations sought for 2008 ALCTS Section Awards

Contact: Charles Wilt

Executive Director, ALCTS

For Immediate Release

September 11, 2007

Nominations sought for 2008 ALCTS Section Awards

CHICAGO - Nominations are being accepted for the 2008 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Section awards. ALCTS presents five Section Awards to honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in the field of library collections and technical services and to support travel for library support staff to attend the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for any of the awards, contact the chair of that award committee. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is December 1, 2007.

  • NEW AWARD FOR 2008: LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award

    The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award has been established by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) to honor the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation.

The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Since collaboration, cooperation, advocacy and outreach are key strategies that epitomize preservation, the LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award promotes cooperative efforts and supports equitable preservation among all libraries, archives and historical institutions. Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in ALA is not required. The Cunha/Swartzburg Award is sponsored by The Library Binding Institute (LBI) and includes a $1,250 grant and citation.

Send nominations, including the name of the person or group being nominated; address, phone number and e-mail address of nominee and nominating party; a formal statement of nomination with rationale for the nomination; resume, vita or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determination; and letters of support and endorsement, to Evelyn Frangakis, chair, Cunha/Swartzburg Jury,

  • First Step Award:

    The ALCTS Serials Section presents the award, a Wiley Professional Development Grant. The award provides librarians who are new to the serials field with the opportunity to broaden their perspectives and encourages professional development and participation at ALA conferences and Serials Section activities. All ALA members with five or less years’ professional experience in the serials field, who have not previously attended an ALA Annual Conference, are eligible. The award consists of $1,500, donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., and is applicable toward round trip transportation, lodging, registration fees, etc. Eligible applicants may apply more than once. Winners will be chosen based on: commitment to professional development in the serials field as evidenced by participation in continuing education activities, workshops and previous participation in professional activities; candidate’s written justification for the grant in terms of commitment to and interest in serials related work; personal professional development; financial need; two letters of reference; and a vita.

    Send nominations to: Lori Kappmeyer, chair, First Step Jury,

  • Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award:

    Presented by the ALCTS Acquisitions Section for contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship, the award consists of $1,500 and a citation donated by Harrassowitz. Winners will be chosen based on: demonstrated leadership which has contributed significantly to improvements in acquisitions and achievement in the field of acquisitions through contributions to professional associations, literature, the education of acquisitions professionals and the advancement of the profession.

    Send nominations to: Lisa German, chair, Leadership Jury,

  • Margaret Mann Citation:

    This award is presented to a cataloger or classifier for outstanding professional achievement in the areas of cataloging or classification through publication, participation in professional cataloging associations or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries. The Cataloging and Classification Section administers the award, a citation and $2,000 to the library school of the winner's choice, which is donated by OCLC, Inc. The Mann Citation committee bases its selection on nominations made by members of the profession or friends of the profession. Anyone with a worthy candidate is urged to nominate that person. Achievements to be considered include: notable publications; outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations; outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance; and outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.

    Send nominations to: Ann Vidor, chair, Mann Citation Jury,

  • Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award:

    Presented by the ALCTS Serials Section, the award consists of a citation and $1,500 donated by ProQuestCSA. The awards are given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship, including such activities as leadership in serials-related activities through participation in professional associations and/or library education programs; contributions to the body of serials literature; conduct of research in the area of serials; development of tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials; and other advances leading to a better understanding of the field of serials.

    Send nominations to: Dana Marie Walker, chair, Ulrich’s Jury,

For additional information on the ALCTS awards, visit the ALCTS Web site at ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association (ALA).