Contact: Eileen Hardy

Marketing Specialist

For Immediate Release,

October 25, 2007

RUSA announces call for nominations for 2008 awards

CHICAGO - The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) announces a call for nominations for awards it is offering in 2008. It is interested in learning about innovative, outstanding achievements being made in the field of reference and adult services librarianship. RUSA encourages people to submit nominations for the following awards, which have a deadline of Dec. 15 unless otherwise noted:

Business Reference and Research:

  • BRASS Thomson Financial Student Travel Award (sponsored by Thomson Financial): $1,000 to enable a student interested in a career as a business reference librarian and with the potential to be a leader in the profession to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

  • Dun & Bradstreet Award for Outstanding Service to Minority Business Communities (sponsored by Dun & Bradstreet): $2,000 and a citation to recognize a business librarian or library that has created an innovative service for a minority business community or has been recognized by that community as an outstanding service provider.

  • Dun & Bradstreet Public Librarian Support Award (sponsored by Dun & Bradstreet): $1,000 and a citation to support the attendance at ALA's Annual Conference of a public librarian who has performed outstanding business reference service.

  • Thomson Gale Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship (sponsored by Gale): $3,000 and a citation given to an individual for distinguished activities in the field of business librarianship.

Books and Publications:

  • Dartmouth Medal (donated by Dartmouth College): a medal for achievement in creating reference works outstanding in quality and significance.

  • Louis Shores-Greenwood Publishing Group Award (sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group): $3,000 and a citation to an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization to recognize excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries.

  • Reference Service Press Award (sponsored by Reference Service Press): $2,500 and a plaque to recognize the author(s) of the most outstanding article published in Reference and User Services Quarterly (RUSQ) during the preceding two-volume year.

  • Sophie Brody Medal (sponsored by Arthur Brody and the Brodart Foundation): a medal to honor the U.S. author of the most distinguished contribution to Jewish literature for adults.

Genealogical Research and Historical Reference:

  • Genealogical Publishing Company Award (sponsored by Genealogical Publishing Company): $1,500 and a citation to recognize professional achievement in historical, reference and research librarianship.

Interlibrary Loan and Resource Sharing:

  • STARS-Atlas Systems Mentoring Award (sponsored by Atlas Systems, Inc.): $1,000 to a library practitioner new to the field of interlibrary loan, resource sharing or electronic reserves, providing an opportunity to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

  • Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished Interlibrary Loan Librarian Award (sponsored by OCLC): $2,000 and a citation to recognize a librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through publication, during the previous two years, of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

Library Services to Labor:

  • John Sessions Memorial Award (sponsored by the Department of Professional Employees, AFL-CIO): a plaque to recognize the efforts of a library or library system to work with the labor community.

Reference and Adult Services:

  • Isadore Gilbert Mudge (sponsored by Gale): $5,000 and citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship.

  • Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award: a citation to honor a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services.

  • Thomson Gale Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Services (sponsored by Gale): $3,000 and a citation to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique library resource to meet patrons' needs.

All award criteria and submission information is available on the awards section of the RUSA website at:

RUSA ( is the American Library Association (ALA) division devoted to supporting the delivery of reference/information services to all groups, and of general library services to adults.