Call for Nominations for 2008 ASCLA Awards

Contact: Eileen Hardy

Marketing Specialist

For immediate release:

Oct. 16, 2007

Call for nominations for 2008 ASCLA awards

CHICAGO--The Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) is now accepting nominations for its 2008 awards program. The purpose of ASCLA awards is to recognize outstanding achievements in networking, enrichment and educational opportunities and service by library agencies, libraries serving special populations, multitype library organizations and independent librarians. ASCLA encourages people to submit nominations for the following awards by the deadline of Dec. 15, 2007:

Cooperative, Consulting, Multitype and State Library Services:

  • Leadership and Professional Achievement Award is a citation recognizing leadership and achievement by one or more ASCLA members in the following areas: consulting, multitype library cooperation, networking, statewide service and programs and state library development.

Extension and Outreach Services:

  • Exceptional Service Award is a citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients; the homebound; medical, nursing and other professional staff in hospitals; and inmates. It also recognizes professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity and significant research of experimental projects.

Service to ASCLA:

  • Cathleen Bourdon Award is a citation presented to an ASCLA personal member for outstanding service and leadership to the division. The award recognizes sustained leadership and exceptional service through participation in activities which have enhanced the stature, reputation and overall strength of ASCLA, as well as representation of ASCLA to other appropriate organizations, institutions or governmental agencies.

Service to People with Disabilities:

  • ASCLA/KLAS/NOD Award is a $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services to people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project that successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities. The award can be for a specific service(s) program or for a library that has made its total services more accessible through changing physical and/or attitudinal barriers. Donated by Keystone Systems.

  • Francis Joseph Campbell Award is an award consisting of a citation and a medal presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance.

The award criteria and submission information is available on the awards program section of the ASCLA website (

ASCLA, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is a diverse organization of librarians and support staff who work in academic and public libraries, state agencies, specialized libraries and multitype cooperatives, as well as those who are self-employed.