LITA announces 2007 scholarship winners

Contact: Valerie Edmonds-Merritt
For Immediate Release
May 22, 2007

LITA announces 2007 scholarship winners

CHICAGO - The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), sponsors scholarships jointly with three other organizations:, LSSI and OCLC, Inc. The scholarships are for master’s level study, with an emphasis on library technology and/or automation, at a library school accredited by the ALA.

This year’s winner of the LITA/Christian Larew Memorial scholarship ($3,000) is Karin Dalziel, who is an active student in the Information Science and Learning Technologies, Library Science program at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

The LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship ($2,500) winner is Lydia C. Welhan, who will pursue her studies at the Indiana University, School of Library and Information Science.

Heather Devine is the winner of the LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship ($3,000). Devine will pursue her studies at the San Jose State University.

Criteria for the scholarships include previous academic excellence, evidence of leadership potential and a commitment to a career in library automation and information technology. Two of the scholarships, the LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship and LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, also require U.S citizenship and membership in one of four minority groups: American Indian or Alaskan Native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American, or Hispanic.

The scholarship winners will be honored at the LITA Awards Reception on Sunday, June 24, 2007, from 3 p.m. – 4 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom at the Renaissance Mayflower Hotel.