ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarship winners

Contact: Linda Mays



For Immediate Release

July 10, 2007

ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books and

Melcher Scholarship winners

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the 2007 recipients of the Frederic G. Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarships.

The scholarships are awarded annually to students who plan to enter ALA-accredited programs, obtain a master's degree in library science and specialize in library service to children. Applicants must be United States or Canadian citizens. Recipients are expected to become members of ALA and are required to accept a position in the field of library service to children for at least one year following graduation.

  • This year's Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship winners are:

    Jessica Kerlin, Lakewood, Ohio

    While in school, Kerlin plans to conduct research in early literacy; then to incorporate the research into the library's programming for children. She will attend Drexel University.

  • Laura Knouff, Pittsburgh

    Knouff's goal as a children's librarian in a public library is to help children and young adults develop their literacy and research skills. She will attend the University of Pittsburgh.

  • Esther Mortensen, Ashland, Ore.

    Mortensen's already well-established career in children's librarianship will be enhanced by experiences gained in library school. She will attend the University of North Texas.

  • Jeanna Rex, Jamaica Plain, Mass.

    Rex's service as a volunteer project manager in her public library afforded her the opportunity to reach out to immigrant youth and their parents, while partnering with community agencies. She will explore additional volunteer and work experiences in the community while attending Simmons College.

Each Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship recipient will receive $6,500. The award is made possible through a generous contribution from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., of Jacksonville, Ill.

This year's Melcher Scholarship winners are:

  • Rebecca Heckathorn, Inman, S.C.

    Heckathorn will use her experience in theater to help children develop a life-long love of reading. She is attending the University of South Carolina.

  • Cynthia Jablonka Simpson, Highland, Mich.

    Simpson is working in her public library, responsible for creating children's programming. She is attending Wayne State University.

Both Heckathorn and Simpson will receive $6,000 from the ALSC, made possible by contributions received in memory of Frederic G. Melcher.

Members of the scholarship committee were very impressed with the caliber of applicants. "Each and every recipient is quite excited to receive the scholarship and to be embarking on a career in children's librarianship," committee chair B. Allison Gray said.

In addition to Gray, of Sag Harbor, N.Y., committee members are: Alan Bern, Berkeley Public Library, Berkeley, Calif..; Marian Creamer of Portland, Ore.; Kerry Gleason, Wilmington Public Library, Wilmington, Del.; and Elizabeth Orsburn, Free Library of Philadelphia. Applications for the 2008 scholarships will be available on the ALA Web site beginning in October 2007, at , or send an e-mail to