Larra Clark/Macey Morales
ALA Media Relations
For Immediate Release

January 22, 2007

Laura McGee Kvasnosky wins Geisel Award for

“Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways”

SEATTLE – Author-illustrator Laura McGee Kvasnosky is the 2007 winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Beginning Reader Award for her book “Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways.” The award was announced January 22 at the 2007 American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

The popular fox sisters return in this book with three adventures precipitated by their need to avoid the dreaded cucumber sandwiches dad is preparing. Strong character development and a superb book design that showcases framed gouache paintings combine to encourage young readers to reach the trio of hilarious outcomes. “Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways” is published by Candlewick Press.

“Our Geisel winner connects with readers by featuring a dilemma many young children understand,” said Geisel Committee Chair Ginny Moore Kruse. “Zelda and Ivy’s backyard escapades spark the imagination and make the reader want more.”

Three Geisel Honor Books were named: “Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride,” written by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Chris Van Dusen and published by Candlewick Press; “Move Over, Rover!” written by Karen Beaumont, illustrated by Jane Dyer and published by Harcourt, Inc.; and “Not a Box,” written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis and published by HarperCollins.

In “Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride,” Mr. Watson’s pig, the “porcine wonder,” finally gets behind the wheel of a 1959 pink convertible. Van Dusen’s gouache illustrations add a retro appearance to DiCamillo's superb dialogue-filled, 14-chapter story.

Beaumont’s patterned cumulative text in “Move Over, Rover!” is expanded by Dyer’s watercolors containing context clues to tell the story of creatures from Squirrel to Skunk seeking shelter by squeezing into Rover’s doghouse.

In “Not a Box,” spare line drawings and minimal text show a personified bunny playing with, in and on a cardboard box. Beginning readers delight in discovering the rabbit’s unlimited imaginative play in this square brown book.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of a beginning reader book who demonstrate great creativity and imagination in his/her/their literary and artistic achievements to engage children in reading. The award is named for the world-renowned children’s author Theodor Geisel, aka Dr. Seuss. The award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the ALA.

The members of the 2007 Geisel Award Committee are: Chair Ginny Moore Kruse, University of Wisconsin – Madison School of Education; Barbara Chatton, University of Wyoming, Laramie, Wyo.; Cyndi Giorgis, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Chrystal Carr Jeter, Cleveland Public Library; Debra Nelson, Prince George’s County Memorial Library, Largo, Maryland; Susan Roman, Dominican University, River Forest, Ill., and Tim Wadham, Maricopa County Library District, Phoenix.

More information about the
Geisel Award and other ALA literary awards, please visit