Winners of PLA feature article contest announced

Contact: Kathleen Hughes
Editor, Public Libraries
For Immediate Release
February 2, 2007

Winners of PLA feature article contest announced

CHICAGO - The Public Library Association (PLA) is pleased to announce the 2007 winners of its annual feature article contest. The contest awards cash prizes to the authors of the best feature articles, written by public librarians, and published in the previous year’s issues of Public Libraries.

The first prize award of $500 goes to Meagan Albright, youth services librarian at the Alvin Sherman Library (a joint use public library) at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. for her article “The Public Library’s Responsibility to LGBT Communities – Recognizing, Representing, and Serving,” which was published in the September/October 2006 issue.

Second prize of $300 goes to Mary Cosper LeBoeuf, director of the Terrebonne Parish Library System in Houma, La. for her article, “Ill Winds: Hurricanes and Public Libraries Along the Gulf Coast," which was published in the May/June 2006 issue.

Members of the Public Libraries Advisory Committee select the winners of the contest. The prizes will be awarded during the PLA President’s Program at the 2007 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. Public librarians interested in being considered for the 2008 awards, should visit for submission guidelines, or e-mail for more information.

PLA is a division of the American Library Association.