2007 ACRL STS Oberly Award goes to AgEcon Search

Contact: Megan Griffin
ACRL Program Coordinator
For Immediate Release
February 9, 2007

2007 ACRL STS Oberly Award goes to AgEcon Search

CHICAGO - AgEcon Search has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Science and Technology Section (STS) Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences.

AgEcon Search co-founders Louise Letnes, librarian, University of Minnesota, and Patricia Rodkewich, former reference bibliographer, University of Minnesota, and contributor Julie Kelly, reference librarian and instruction coordinator, University of Minnesota, will receive a plaque and cash prize at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Washington D.C. during the STS Program on Monday, June 25, 2007, at 8 a.m.

“AgEcon Search is an outstanding example of a successful and highly used subject bibliography in electronic format,” said award committee co-chairs Martin Kesselman and Paul Kelsey. “AgEcon Search is a wonderful example of an effort to manage the grey literature of a discipline in an accessible and easily used format.”

AgEcon Search includes publications emanating from over 150 academic institutions, professional societies, and government agencies, and offers full text access to literature not always covered in the major agricultural and economic indexes. With over 144,000 visits in 2005 and 1.25 million document downloads since 2001, AgEcon Search continues to offer enormous benefits to researchers in the field of agricultural economics.

AgEcon Search is maintained and co-sponsored by the University of Minnesota Libraries, the Department of Applied Economics at the University of Minnesota and the American Agricultural Economics Association (AAEA).

The Oberly Award was established in 1923 in memory of Eunice Rockwood Oberly. This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

Julie Kelly has a B.A. and M.S. in biology and an M.L.I.S. from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Louise Letnes has a B.A. in mathematics and an M.L.S. from the University of Minnesota. Patricia Rodkewich received her B.A. in music and a library degree from St. Catherine's College in St. Paul, Minn.

ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing 13,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments.