John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award winner announced

Contact: Michael Dowling
International Relations
For Immediate Release
February 22, 2007

John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award winner announced

CHICAGO - Winston Tabb, dean of University Libraries at John Hopkins University, is this year’s recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Relations Committee’s John Ames/Humphry/OCLC/ Forest Press Award.

OCLC/Forest Press donated the cash award of $1,000, which it is given to an individual for significant contribution to international librarianship.

Winston Tabb received this award for his significant contributions in librarianship and community service worldwide. His focus on issues relating to increasing global access to information, particularly in parts of the world where access has been limited, makes him an outstanding recipient of this award.

“Winston Tabb has made significant contributions to international librarianship through leadership in IFLA, where he is the chair of the Copyright and Other Legal Matters Committee, in WIPO and in other international committees, including UNESCO commissions formed to advise the National Libraries of Russia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Latvia,” said Fred Gitner, chair of the IRC- John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award Committee. “In addition he helped organize three US-China Library Conferences from 1996-2005. He has presented papers at conferences in Europe, the Middle East and the Far East.”

Tabb will be recognized during the International Relations Round Table Chair’s Program on Monday, June 25, 2007, at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.