Winston Tabb receives 2007 Lippincott Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden
Program Officer, Governance
For Immediate Release
April 17, 2007

Winston Tabb receives 2007 Lippincott Award

CHICAGO - Winston Tabb, dean of University Libraries and Sheridan Director at Johns Hopkins University, is this year’s recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Joseph W. Lippincott Award. The award, founded in 1938, is given annually to an individual for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 donated by the award founder’s grandson, Joseph W. Lippincott, III.

Winston Tabb received this award for his significant and enduring contributions to the library profession both nationally and internationally. During a long and distinguished career at the Library of Congress culminating as associate librarian of Congress, Library Services, he had an enormous impact on libraries, librarians, the profession as a whole and on library users in the U.S.

“Winston has successfully brought his considerable skills to bear in approaching a wide range of challenges before the profession,” said Robert Newlen, Head, Legislative Relations Office, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress. “He played a strong leadership role in the development of LC’s internationally recognized digital library efforts through development of the pioneering American Memory Program and co-chairing the Digital Futures Group.”

“Winston brought a high level of attention to the important work of the Library and led it through a number of transitional challenges, not the least of which centered around the struggle to maximize decreasing resources to support the important role of the Library in the nation and the world,” said Gary Strong, university librarian, University of California, Los Angeles.

Tabb’s achievements at the international level include service as chair of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)’s Professional Committee, National Libraries Section, Coordinating Board for the Division of General Research Libraries, and Copyright and Other Legal Matters Committee.

“Winston has devoted decades to building relationships in IFLA that have led to increased cooperation,” said Sarah E. Thomas, Carl A. Kroch University Librarian at Cornell University.

Members of the 2007 Joseph W. Lippincott Award Jury are: Jon E. Cawthorne, San Diego State University; Geraldine Harris, Lake Charles Public Library; Shirley Loo, Library of Congress; Christine Nolan, Ridgefield Library; and Carla Stoffle, University of Arizona.

The Lippincott Award will be presented on Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2008 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is December 1, 2007. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site: