2007 Beta Phi Mu Award Recipient named

Contact: Cheryl Malden
Program Officer
For Immediate Release
April 26, 2007

2007 Beta Phi Mu Award recipient named

CHICAGO – Barbara Immroth, professor, School of Information, University of Texas – Austin, has been selected as the 2007 winner of the American Library Association (ALA) / Beta Phi Mu Award, joining a roster of distinguished educators who have received this honor over the past four decades.

This annual award, consisting of $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement, is given to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship, and is sponsored by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society.

Immroth is being recognized for her extensive and lasting impact on education for youth services librarians in school and public libraries. She has devoted her long and impressive career to fostering scholarship among library youth services professionals, raising funds for their education and mentoring future educators to teach in this area. Through highly acclaimed dedication to the advancement of library service to young people, she has made a major contribution to society as well as to her profession. Her leadership, energy, and counseling, coupled with both an intellectual and practical approach to her activities, has enabled her to help shape the careers of many librarians.

Among her many professional activities, Barbara Immroth is a past-president of Beta Phi Mu and of the Association for Library Service to Children, a trustee of the American Library Association Freedom to Read Foundation, a president of the Texas Library Association, an ALA Councilor, and a member of many international, national, and regional library committees. Her publication record is extensive and exemplary.

The 2007 Beta Phi Mu Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception, Tuesday, June 26, 2007, during the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

Members of the Beta Phi Mu Award jury were Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr., Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn.; Romina Gutierrez, Princeton Public Library, N.J.; Eric W. Johnson, Southeastern Louisiana University, Hammond, La.; Alice S. Knapp, Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn.; and Charlotte C. Xanders, California State University – Sacramento Library, Calif.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2008 Beta Phi Mu Award is December 1, 2007. Guidelines and application forms are available at http://www.ala.org/ala/awardsbucket/betaphimuaward/betaphimuaward.htm.