LITA scholarships available in library and information science

Contact: Valerie Edmonds
800/545-2433, ext. 4269
For Immediate Release
November 21, 2006

LITA scholarships available in library and information science

CHICAGO - The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is pleased to announce that applications are being accepted for three scholarships as follows:

  • LITA/Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship (sponsored by for $3,000
  • LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship for $2,500
  • LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship for $3,000

The scholarships are designed to encourage the entry of qualified persons into the library automation field. The committees seek those planning to follow a career in library and information technology who: demonstrate potential leadership; hold a strong commitment to the use of automated systems in libraries; and, for the minority scholarships, are qualified members of a principal minority group (American Indian or Alaskan native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American, or Hispanic).

Candidates should illustrate their qualifications for the scholarships with a statement indicating the nature of their library experience, letters of reference, and a personal statement of the applicant’s view of what he or she can bring to the profession, with particular emphasis on experiences that indicate potential for leadership and commitment to library automation. Economic need is considered when all other criteria are equal. Winners must have been accepted to an ALA accredited MLS Program. Application forms and instructions are available online at

All applications, references, transcripts and other documents must be postmarked no later than March 1, 2007 for consideration. All materials should be submitted to American Library Association, Scholarship Clearinghouse, c/o Human Resource Development & Recruitment, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2795. If you have questions about a LITA Scholarship please email the LITA Office at

The winner will be announced at the LITA President’s Program at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, DC