2006 Information Today Library of the Future Award recipient named

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

For Immediate Release

March 7, 2006

2006 Information Today Library of the Future Award recipient named

CHICAGO - The Pace University Library has been named the recipient of the 2006 Information Today Library of the Future Award for its project “Media Patch.” The award of $1,500 and a citation donated by Information Today, Inc., honors an individual library, library consortium, group of librarians or support organization for innovative planning, applications, or development of patron training programs about information technology in a library setting.

Pace University is comprised of several campuses that are geographically dispersed in New York. The three major libraries that support the academic programs are: the Mortola Library in Pleasantville, The Henry Birnbaum Library in New York City, and the Law Library in White Plains (functions independently of the first two); there is also a satellite library at the Graduate Center in White Plains.

Media Patch, an internal streaming system, is a solution for the sharing of media programs in and between campuses to enhance and enrich learning. No longer are patrons required to travel to the location where the media is housed (since the library doesn’t mail media). Media Patch is a closed circuit system that doesn’t infringe on copyright because the media is not changed from its original format and all of the streaming is done within the intranet. Where rights are permissible, even more can be accomplished for distance education programs.

“The jury was impressed with the efforts of the Pace University Library staff to enhance the students’ learning opportunities with improved access to educational media across multiple campuses,” said Billie Peterson-Lugo, award chair. “In addition, they accomplished this goal while adhering to copyright and implementing a cost effective solution that can be replicated by others.”

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2007 ALA/Information Today Library of the Future Award is December 1, 2006. Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA Web site

Members of the ALA/Information Today Library of the Future Award are: Chair, Billie Peterson-Lugo, Baylor University Moody Memorial Library, Waco, Texas; Christine Bradley, Connecticut Library Consortium, Middletown, Conn.; Jon E. Cawthorne, San Diego State University, San Diego, Calif.; Eileen M. Palmer, The Library Network, Southgate, Mich.

The ALA/Information Today, Inc Library of the Future Award will be presented Tuesday, June 27, during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.