Freedom to Read Foundation announces 2006 Board of Trustees election winners

Contact: Judith Krug
Director, Office for Intellectual Freedom

For Immediate Release
June 16, 2006

Freedom to Read Foundation announces

2006 Board of Trustees election winners

CHICAGO - The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2006 Board of Trustees election.
Five trustees were elected to two-year terms in the April election: Francis J. Buckley, Chris Finan, Deborah L. Jacobs, Burton Joseph and Candace Morgan. Of
trustees, Morgan, Finan, Buckley and Jacobs were re-elected; Joseph previously served as a trustee.

These trustees will join John W. Berry (River Forest, Ill.), Therese Bigelow (Kansas City, Mo.), Jonathan Bloom (New York), Anne Heanue (Alexandria, Va.), James G. Neal (New York) and Judith Platt (Washington, D.C.) as elected board members.
The American Library Association President (Leslie Burger), President-Elect (Loriene Roy), Executive Director (Keith Michael Fiels) and Intellectual Freedom Committee Chair (Kenton Oliver) serve on the board in an ex-officio capacity, with vote.
Judith Krug is the secretary of the board and executive director of the Foundation.

Biographical information on the election winners follows:

Francis J. Buckley (Arlington, Va.) is former Superintendent of Documents for the U.S. and recently served as interim director of the District of Columbia Public Library.
He is currently on the Executive Board of the American Library Association.

Chris Finan (New York) is president of the American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression.

Deborah L. Jacobs (Seattle) is the Seattle City Librarian.
She is a past president of the Oregon Library Association and was named Librarian of the Year by Library Journal in 1994.
She also serves as chair of ALA's Public and Cultural Programs Advisory Committee.

Burton Joseph (Chicago), is an attorney with the firm Joseph, Lichtenstein, and Levinson.
He has served as trial and appellate counsel in numerous censorship cases, and has served on the board of the Media Coalition since its inception and as chairman for 13 years.

Candace Morgan (Portland, Ore.) is the current vice president and a past president of the Freedom to Read Foundation.
Recently retired as associate director of the Fort Vancouver (Wash.) Regional Library, she is currently a trainer, consultant, and adjunct faculty member for the Emporia State University School of Library and Information Management and the Portland State University Hatfield School of Government.
She is a past chair of the ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee and chairs the steering committee of ALA's Lawyers for Libraries program.

The Freedom to Read Foundation was founded in 1969 to promote and defend the right of individuals to freely express ideas and to access information in libraries and elsewhere. FTRF fulfills its mission through the disbursement of grants to individuals and groups, primarily for the purpose of aiding them in litigation, and through direct participation in litigation dealing with freedom of speech and of the press.