PLA awards applications available online

Contact: Angela Thullen
PLA, Marketing Specialist

For Immediate Release
July 5, 2006

PLA awards applications available online

CHICAGO - The Public Library Association (PLA), a division of the American Library Association, has introduced a new Online Awards Application for its seven service awards.
Members can now nominate their colleagues and libraries for PLA awards through the PLA website,

The PLA awards are designed to highlight the best in public library service and to honor those providing public library service whose vision and accomplishments are extraordinary and deserve recognition by their peers. The awards include:

Advancement of Literacy Award: honors a publisher, bookseller, hardware and/or software dealer, foundation or similar group (i.e. not an individual) that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of adult literacy

Allie Beth Martin Award: honors a librarian who, in a public library setting, has demonstrated extraordinary range and depth of knowledge about books or other library materials and has distinguished ability to share that knowledge

Baker & Taylor Entertainment Audio Music/Video Product Award:
honors a librarian who promotes the development of a circulating Audio Music/Video collection in a public library

Charlie Robinson Award: honors a public library director who, over a period of seven years, has been a risk taker, an innovator and/or a change agent in a public library

Demco New Leaders Travel Grant: honors a librarian who serves to enhance the professional development of public librarians new to the field by making possible their attendance at major professional development activities

EBSCO Excellence in Small and/or Rural Library Service Award: honors a public library serving a population of 10,000 or less that demonstrates excellence of service to its community

Highsmith Library Innovation Award: recognizes a library's innovative and creative service program to the community

An award jury appointed by the PLA president will review each nomination.
The deadline for submitting an application is December 1, 2006.

The award juries will review the applications and select a recipient at the ALA 2007 Midwinter Meeting.
Award winners will be announced in February 2007, and each award will be presented at the PLA President's Reception and Awards Presentation held during the ALA Annual Conference.

For more information, contact the PLA office, 800-545-2433, ext. 5PLA or by email
To apply or nominate a colleague for an award, visit PLA's web site at