Walden named 2006 Marta Lange/CQ Press Award winner

Contact: Megan Bielefeld

ACRL Program Coordinator


For Immediate Release

February 12, 2006

Walden named 2006 Marta Lange/CQ Press Award winner

CHICAGO – Graham R. Walden, Professor and Collection Manager for Communication, Germanic Languages and Literatures and Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Librarian at the Ohio State University Libraries, has been named the 2006 recipient of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Law and Political Science Section (LPSS) Marta Lange/CQ Press Award. The award, established in 1996 by LPSS, honors an academic or law librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.

“Graham has made distinguished contributions to the advancement of political science research and political science librarianship,” said Binh Le, chair of the Marta Lange Award Committee. “In the past two decades, he has published numerous bibliographies, book chapters, book reviews and peer-review-articles in the area of polling and survey research. Graham has also served the Ohio State University and the library profession, especially the Law and Political Science Section, with great distinction. Simply put, Graham is an exceptional scholar-librarian.”

In addition to his exemplary records of leadership and service in ACRL, Graham has authored publications such as “ Public Opinion Polls and Survey Research: A Selective Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Guides and Studies from the 1980s” (1990); “Polling and Survey Research Methods 1935-1979: An Annotated Bibliography” (1996); “Survey Research Methodology, 1990-1999: Annotated Bibliography”
(2002); “Public Opinion Polls: A Guide to Accessing the Literature,”
Reference Services Review 16, no. 4 (1988): 65-74; “Selected Reference Sources in Polling and Survey Research Methodology, 1971-1996,”
Reference Services Review 24, no. 4 (1996): 49-66,76.

Graham received his B.A. in Political Science from Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania in 1976, and his M.S.L.S. from Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania in 1981. He earned his M.L.S. from The State University of New York at Albany in 1983.

CQ Press (
www.cqpress.com), sponsor of the award, will present the $1,000 award and plaque at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in New Orleans during the LPSS Marta Lange/CQ Press Luncheon on Saturday, June 24, at 11:30 a.m.

ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing 13,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments.