Untitled Document

Contact: Megan Bielefeld



For Immediate Release

February 14, 2006

Petrowski wins 2006 ACRL/IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

CHICAGO – Mary Jane Petrowski, associate director of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), is the winner of the ACRL Instruction Section's (IS) Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award. The award honors Miriam Dudley, whose efforts in the field of information literacy led to the formation of the ACRL Instruction Section. The honor recognizes a librarian who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.

“Ms. Petrowski is a nationally recognized leader in the profession who has championed information literacy as a foundation for invigorating the librarians' teaching and learning roles,” wrote Elizabeth Dupuis, chair of the IS Dudley award committee. “Of special significance is her extraordinary work to initiate the Institute for Information Literacy's Immersion Program. Selected as the first lead faculty of the Immersion Institute, she was charged with creating the curriculum, structuring the program, and developing a faculty cohort to support beginning instruction librarians and experienced instruction coordinators.”

Petrowski led the six initial faculty members through the first week-long Immersion Program in 1999. The resulting program was a rich and substantial curriculum that led faculty members through the extensive process of curriculum design through implementation. The Immersion program now is in its seventh year, and continues to receive accolades from attendees.

“Her vita evidences sustained contributions to professional organizations focused on the field of instruction,” said Dupuis. “She is recognized internationally for her insights on information literacy, meriting an invitation to assist the academic instruction committee of the Australia Library Association with the development of their national Information Literacy Standards.”

Petrowski has served on a number of committees and special task forces within the Instruction Section since 1990, including serving as chair of the section from 1998–1999. Her appointment in 2002 as associate director of ACRL allows her to continue her work within a premier professional organization, promoting and supporting the instructional role of libraries and librarians.

Petrowski speaks frequently at national and international conferences and possesses a distinguished record of contributions to books, reports, journals, and conference proceedings. She has served as a consultant for college, university, and military libraries, utilizing her experience to assist in establishing effective models at other institutions. Throughout her career, she has consistently looked beyond the field of librarianship for inspiration and relevance, and found applications for libraries. She has had a tremendous influence in the field of information literacy, both on practitioners and academic faculty.

In addition to her involvement in the ACRL Instruction Section, Petrowski has been a member of the American Library Association (ALA) since 1979.

In 2000, she received the Faculty Innovation in Teaching Award from Colgate University. Petrowski is the co-author, with Lizabeth Wilson, of the “Research Guide: Introduction to Library Skills” (1993).

Before coming to ACRL in 2002, Petrowski was Head of Information Literacy at Case Library, Colgate University (1993–2002). She served at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as Assistant Undergraduate Librarian in the Undergraduate Library (1989–1993). Petrowski worked as Reference Librarian/Cataloger at the U. S. Air Force Europe (USAFE) Command Library at Ramstein Air Base in West Germany (1986–1988). Prior to that, she was the librarian for the United States Army Field Station Library in Sinop, Turkey (1978–1985).

Petrowski received her B.A. in English, magna cum laude, from Duke University in 1975, and her M.S. in Library Instruction from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1978. She earned her Certificate of Advanced Study in Library Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1993.

Elsevier Science sponsors the award on behalf of its journal
Research Strategies. A check for $1,000 and a plaque will be presented to Petrowski during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans during the IS Program on Sunday, June 25, at 1:30 p.m.

ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing 13,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments.