Three members elected to ALA Executive Board

Contact: Elizabeth Dreazen

ALA Governance

For Immediate Release

February 7, 2006

Three members elected to ALA Executive Board

(CHICAGO) Mario M. Gonzalez, Terri G. Kirk, and Roberta A. Stevens have been elected to serve on the American Library Association (ALA) Executive Board. The new board members were elected by the ALA Council in a vote taken at the 2006 ALA Midwinter Meeting held January 19-25 in San Antonio, Texas.

Gonzalez, Kirk and Stevens will each serve three-year terms beginning in June 2006 and concluding in June 2009.

Gonzalez is the director of the Greenwich Library in Greenwich, Conn. He currently also is on the board of the Public Library Association (PLA) and has served as ALA Councilor-At-Large since 1995. Gonzalez has served on the executive board of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), has chaired the ALA Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) and served on the ALA Spectrum Scholarship Jury, ALA Committee on Committees and the ALA Planning & Budget Assembly.

Gonzalez was president of the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking (REFORMA) in 1991-92 and has served as the REFORMA Northeast Chapter treasurer since 2002. Gonzalez was named to the Association for Library Trustees and Advocates (ALTA) Advocacy Honor Roll in 2005 and was named Librarian of the Year by REFORMA in 1994. He graduated from the City College of New York and has his master's in library science from the Pratt Institute.

Kirk is a high school librarian at Reidland High School in Paducah, Ky. She is a past president and current communications chair of the Kentucky Library Association; past president of the Kentucky School Media Association and current chair of its Eleanor Simmons Grant committee; and a member of the National Education Association and Kentucky Education Association.

An active member of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), Kirk has served on the AASL Executive Board and has represented AASL on the ALA Council since 2003. Kirk received the Kentucky School Media Association Outstanding School Librarian Award in 2001. She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University and received two master's degrees from Murray State University. Kirk was first elected to the ALA Executive Board in 2005 to complete the unexpired term of board member Michael Gorman, who was elected ALA president-elect.

Stevens is the outreach projects and partnerships officer at the Library of Congress. She has served on the ALA Council and the ALA Committee on Legislation since 2001. She chaired COL's Privacy Subcommittee from 2004 to 2005 and currently chairs COL's Telecommunications Subcommittee.

Stevens has been the project manager for the National Book Festival since it began in 2001. As the Library of Congress bicentennial program manager, she partnered with ALA, state librarians and public libraries throughout the country on the celebration of the Library's 200th anniversary in April 2000. Prior to joining the Library of Congress 21 years ago, Stevens worked as a school library media specialist, a media services head at a university and a director of technical operations at a major public library system. She has a master's of library science from the State University of New York at Buffalo.

PLA, RUSA, ALTA and AASL are divisions of the ALA.

The ALA Executive Board manages the affairs of the association. It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body. For more information on the Executive Board, please visit