2006 Bechtel Fellowship winner announced

Contact: Marsha P. Durrett

Program Coordinator

(312) 280-2166


For immediate Release

February 28, 2006

2006 Bechtel Fellowship winner announced

CHICAGO- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is pleased to announce that children's librarians
Jacquelyn S. Rogers and
Mary G. Marshall have been selected as the 2006 recipients of the Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship.

The Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children's librarians to spend a month or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, part of the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida, Gainesville, which contains a special collection of 85,000 volumes of children's literature published mostly before 1950.

The fellowship is endowed in memory of Louise Seaman Bechtel and Ruth M. Baldwin and provides a stipend of $4,000, which must be used between January and September 2007.

Jacquelyn S. Rogers, Children's Department manager for the Buckhead Branch Library/Atlanta-Fulton Public in Atlanta, Georgia, will study “The Child Illustrated: Social Roles Revealed Through Dress Depicted In The 19 th and 20 th Century Children's Literature” at the Baldwin Library.

Mary G. Marshall, assistant director/head of children's services for the Addison Public Library in Addison, Ill., will study “The Anatomy Of A Book Collection: Ruth M. Baldwin and Her Quest To Build A Historical Children's Book Collection (1953-1990)” at the Baldwin Library.

Members of the 2006 Bechtel Fellowship Committee are: Debby Gold, chair, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Parma Heights, Ohio; Denise Agosto, Drexel University, Philadelphia; Sana P. Daliva, Kahului Public Library, Kahului, Hawaii; Nancy Gifford, Schenectady County Public Library, Schenectady, N.Y.; and Cecily Pilzer, Georgetown Day School, Washington, DC.