Call for nominations for 2007 ASCLA awards

Eileen Hardy
Marketing Specialist

For Immediate Release
September 5, 2006

Call for nominations for 2007 ASCLA awards

CHICAGO--The Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) is now accepting nominations for its 2007 awards program.
The purpose of ASCLA awards is to recognize outstanding achievement in networking, enrichment and educational opportunities, and service by library agencies, libraries serving special populations, multi-type library organizations and independent librarians. ASCLA encourages people to submit nominations for the following awards by the deadline of December 15, 2006:

Cooperative, Consulting, Multi-type, and State Library Services:

  • Leadership Achievement Award is a citation presented to recognize leadership and achievement in the following areas of activity: consulting, multi-type library cooperation, and state library development. The award recognizes sustained activity that has been characterized by professional growth and effectiveness, and has enhanced the status of these areas of activity.
  • Professional Achievement Award is a citation presented to one or more ASCLA members for professional achievement within the areas of consulting, networking, statewide service and programs. The criteria include: record of accomplishment in the development or promotion of statewide library services and programs or services and programs of multi-type library organizations; contributions that improve and enhance the status of state library agencies or multi-type library organizations; evidence of initiative in dealing with issues and challenges facing state library agencies or multi-type library organizations.

Extension and Outreach Services:

  • Exceptional Service Award is a citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients; to the homebound; to medical, nursing, and other professional staff in hospitals; and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research of experimental projects.

Service to ASCLA:

  • Service Award is a citation presented to recognize an ASCLA personal member for outstanding service and leadership to the division. The award recognizes sustained leadership and exceptional service through participation in activities that have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of ASCLA; and representation of ASCLA to other appropriate organizations, institutions or governmental agencies.

Service to People with Disabilities:

  • ASCLA/KLAS/NOD Award is a $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project that successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities.
    The award can be for a specific service(s) program or for a library that has made their total services more accessible through changing physical and/or attitudinal barriers. Donated by Keystone Systems.

  • Francis Joseph Campbell Award is an award consisting of a citation and a medal presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance.

The award criteria and submission information is available on the awards program section of the ASCLA website at: To learn about the current award recipients, visit:

ASCLA is the American Library Association (ALA) division devoted to the development of specialized and cooperative library activities.
Its 1,000 members represent state library agencies, specialized library agencies, multi-type library cooperatives and librarians who work outside of traditional library settings.