Trina Magi named Futas winner

Cheryl Malden
Program Officer
For Immediate Release
April 25, 2006

Trina Magi named Futas winner

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) has awarded the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award to Trina Magi, government documents librarian, at the University of Vermont Guy W.
Bailey Howe Library, Burlington, Vt. The Futas award is given annually to honor a librarian who invests time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship.

Magi played a pivotal role in mobilizing opposition to Section 215 (library records provision) of the USA PATRIOT Act.
As a grassroots advocate working with the Vermont Library Association, she contacted and worked closely with her member of Congress, U.S. Rep. Bernard Sanders.
Sanders has cited Magi as a key catalyst who thrust the debate surrounding the USA PATRIOT Act into the national spotlight.

"Magi's efforts to reform the PATRIOT Act have proven that one person's actions can affect change in this country," said Sanders.

Magi has spoken in a wide range of forums about privacy issues related to library user's rights.
She has served as president of the Vermont Library Association, ALA Chapter Councilor for Vermont, and was the 2004 recipient of the Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Award.

"The Committee was impressed with the perseverance and dedication that Ms. Magi brought to this process," said Jury Chair Robert Newlen of the Library of Congress.

Magi is an active member of the American Library Association, Allied Professional Association, and Association of College and Research Librarians.

Members of the Elizabeth Futas Jury are Elizabeth A. Margutti, University of Virginia, Charlottesville; Patricia L. Owens, Timbercrest, Canton, Pa; Scott T. Perry, University of Chicago; and Roberta A. Stevens, Library of Congress, Washington, DC.

The 2006 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst For Change Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception, Tuesday, June 27, during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2007 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst For Change Award is December 1, 2006. Guidelines and application forms are available at