Beta Phi Mu Award recipient named

Cheryl Malden
Program Officer
For Immediate Release
April 25, 2006

Beta Phi Mu Award recipient named

CHICAGO - Lois Mai Chan, professor at the University of Kentucky, School of Library and Information Science, is the 2006 recipient of the Beta Phi Mu Award.
This annual award, donated by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society, is presented to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship.

"In selecting Dr. Chan for this award, the jury commended her for her excellence as a distinguished teacher and her visibility as a role model and mentor for her students," said Jury Chair Eric Johnson of Southeastern Louisiana University.
"We commend her very strong publishing and grants record, resulting in significant advances in the theory and practice of cataloging and classification; her authorship of standard texts that are later used beyond the classroom in the working lives of librarians; and her insight and leadership in such areas as subject headings and metadata."

Other members of the 2006 Beta Phi Mu Award Jury are Cynthia M. Akers, Emporia (Kan.) State University; Emily A. Bergman, Occidental (Calif.) College; John Allyn Moorman, Williamsburg (Va.) Regional Library; and Charlotte C. Xanders, California State University, Sacramento.

The jury echoed her current and past students' accolades for her support and guidance of future librarians and applauded her profound impact on the field of librarianship.

Chan received a B.A. from Taiwan, an M.A. from Florida State University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky.
During her career she has received seven major honors and awards, including two awards for excellence in teaching from the University of Kentucky (the University of Kentucky's Alumni Association Great Teacher Award and the College of Communications and Information Studies Excellence in Teaching Award), and the Margaret Mann Citation from the American Library Association's Association for Library Collections and Technical Services.

In 2004-2005, Chan, who is a widely sought lecturer and consultant in all parts of the world, was the Lazerow Lecturer at Simmons College. Chan is a life member of the American Library Association and a member of The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS).

The 2006 Beta Phi Mu Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception, Tuesday, June 27, during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2007 Beta Phi Mu Award is December 1, 2006. Guidelines and application forms are available at