AASL selects 2006 NSLMPY Award winners

Kathy Agarwal

AASL Communications Specialist

For Immediate Release
April 25, 2006

AASL selects 2006 NSLMPY Award winners

CHICAGO - Hilliard (Ohio) City School District, Biblioteca Las Americas in Mercedes, Texas, and Kapolei (Hawaii) High School will receive this year's prestigious National School Library Media Program of the Year Award (NSLMPY) from the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).
The honor will be presented at the AASL Awards Luncheon at the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

The 2006 School District award goes to
Hilliard City School District in Hilliard, Ohio, with 20 schools serving over 14,000 students.
School library media centers district-wide provide flexible access to resources and are open to all students throughout the school day.
The Hilliard School District school library media programs are central to teaching and learning as evidenced by a strong budget and support from district administrators.
The long-range plan for the library media program, aptly named "Powerful Partnerships," is a guiding focus for the district.

Biblioteca Las Americas in Mercedes, Texas, has been named one of two Single School Category winners for 2006.
Biblioteca Las Americas (BLA) is a 33,000 square foot facility serving over 1,300 students from two magnet schools in the South Texas Independent School District.
Although a freestanding facility, the library media program at BLA is a model of curriculum integration.
The program is also a model for student inquiry, with over 40 opportunities for research, inquiry, and presentations for grades 9-12.
Extended hours provide additional time for student research.

Kapolei High School in Kapolei, Hawaii, also has been named a winner in the Single School Category.
Kapolei High School, serving 2,333 students, was designed with learning academies, teaming, and problem-based learning (PBL) as the focus for 9-12 grade education.
The library media program implements problem-based learning school-wide through a "Curriculum Construction Cookbook."
Lessons center around essential questions grounded in a standards based curriculum.

"In each of the schools and districts, the school library media specialists are acknowledged as curriculum leaders," said Gail Dickinson, chair of the NSLMPY Award Subcommittee.
"Administration, fellow teachers, and students acknowledge that role, and provided examples of ways in which they depend on the school library media program as the central focus of teaching and learning in the school."

The committee also includes Betsy Davis, Granby High School, Norfolk, Va., Donna Helvering, Millard Public Schools, Omaha, Neb., and Sara Kelly Johns, Lake Placid (N.Y.) Middle/High School.

Established in 1963, the NSLMPY Award honors school library media programs whose mission is to ensure that students and staff are effective users of ideas and information, as well as exemplify implementation of
Information Power: Building Partnerships for Learning, the publication of AASL's standards and guidelines for dynamic, student-centered school library media programs.
Sponsored by Follett Library Resources, the award, comprised of two categories: school district and single school, recognizes exemplary school library media programs that are fully integrated into the school's curriculum.
Each winning program, one in the district category and two in the single school category, receives a $10,000 prize ($30,000 total).

The AASL National School Library Media Program of the Year Awards will be presented at a ceremony and luncheon held on Monday, June 26, during the 2006 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.
Special guest speakers for the event are young adult non-fiction authors Ann Bausum and Sue Macy.
For more information about the event, please visit the AASL web site

The American Association of School Librarians, www.ala.org/aasl, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), promotes the improvement and extension of library media services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program.
Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library media field.