2006 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award winners announced

Cheryl Malden
Program Officer
For Immediate Release
April 21, 2006

2006 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award

winners announced

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2006 EBSCO/ALA Conference Scholarship Award. This year the winners include: Rita Baladad, Tina Bradley, Emily Chandler, Amy Joanne Chow, Nancy Cope, Angela Gonzalez, Teresa Maria Mares, Cassandra Plater, Mildred Walters, and Li Zhang.

They represent various types of library organizations, including academic, public, school and state libraries, and multiple position classifications, and hail from nine different states from New York to California.

"The successful applicants demonstrated the highest level of achievement in this evaluation process," said Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr., award committee chair. "They demonstrated the high value that conference attendance could play in their work."

Annually, 10 awards, each in the amount of $1,000, are presented to professional librarians who are members of the American Library Association, to enable them to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Each candidate has to complete an application form, which includes an essay on how conference attendance would promote their professional development. The essays are evaluated for clarity of content, clearness of goals and the benefits of attendance, commitment to ALA and the library profession, enthusiasm, financial need, and potential for growth.

The recipients will be featured in a photographic exhibit of award winners near the ALA Registration Area at the Morial Convention Center in New Orleans and will be hosted at an EBSCO Breakfast on Monday, June 27.

EBSCO and ALA have partnered for many years in this special program, which has enabled many librarians to attend the annual conference and to benefit from their interaction with other colleagues in the field.

The 2006 EBSCO Conference Sponsorship jury members are: Ernest A. DiMattia, Ferguson (Conn.) Library, Jenna Freedman, Barnard (N.Y.) College; Samantha Schmehl Hines, University of Montana; Amy E. Wallace, California State University, Channel Islands and Kristin Whitehair, Manhattan, Kan.

The deadline for submissions of applications for the 2007 EBSCO Award is December 1, 2006. Guidelines and application forms are available at