Crowe, Roy seek 2007 - 2008 ALA presidency

Contact: Larra Clark

Media Relations Manager

For Immediate Release

October 30, 2005

Crowe, Roy seek 2007 - 2008 ALA presidency

(CHICAGO) William Crowe, who heads the University of Kansas' (KU) Kenneth Spencer Research Library, and Loriene Roy, professor at the University of Texas at Austin's School of Information, are candidates for the 2007-2008 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).

Crowe was elected as at-large member of the ALA Council for the 2003-2005 term and is a past chair of the Association of College and Research Librarians' (ACRL) University Libraries Section. He also has chaired the Staff Development Committee of the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA) and served as a member of the Legislative Committee of the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS). He has been active in the Kansas, Indiana and Ohio ALA chapters.

Crowe was KU's Dean of Libraries from 1990 to 1999 and served as Vice Chancellor for Information Services for the last three of those years. Since 1996, he has been a member of OCLC Online Computer Library Center's board of trustees. For four of those years, Crowe chaired the board. He was elected to the Association of Research Libraries' board of directors, 1995-1999.

Crowe was named Distinguished Alumnus by the Indiana University School of Library and Information Science Alumni Association in 2004, and was the inaugural recipient of the Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award at the University of Kansas in 2002. He has a Ph.D. from Indiana University, Bloomington, and a master's in library service from Rutgers.

Roy was elected as ALA Councilor-at-Large for two terms, 1997-2000 and 2004-2006. She chairs ALA's Committee on Education and the Education Assembly and served on Council committees and committees of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), the Public Library Association (PLA) and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). She is a past president of the American Indian Library Association (AILA) and on the steering committee of the 2006 Joint Conference of Librarians of Color.

In 1999, Roy founded "If I Can Read, I Can Do Anything," a national reading club for Native children. She also directs "Honoring Generations," an Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS)-funded scholarship program for indigenous students. Roy is widely published, including a festschrift in honor of Marvin Scilken. She serves on several advisory boards/steering committees, including El día de los niños/El día de los libros, the Sequoyah Research Center, and WebJunction.

Library Journal named Roy a 2005 "Mover & Shaker," and she has received four Texas Excellence Awards for teaching and student advising. Roy received a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and an M.L.S. from the University of Arizona. She is Anishinabe (Ojibwe), enrolled on the White Earth Reservation, a member of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.

ACRL, ALCTS, ALSC, LAMA, PLA and RUSA are divisions of the ALA.

ALA members current as of January 31 will vote on the spring ballot. The candidates elected will serve as ALA vice president/president-elect for 2006 - 2007 and as president the following year.