LITA/Library Hi Tech award nominations sought

Contact: Mary Taylor


For Immediate Release

November 14, 2005

LITA/Library Hi Tech award nominations sought

CHICAGO - Nominations are invited for the 2006 LITA/Library Hi Tech Award given each year to an individual or institution for outstanding achievement in communication for continuing education in library and information technology. Sponsored by the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and
Library Hi Tech, the award includes a citation of merit and a $1,000 stipend provided by Emerald Press, publishers of
Library Hi Tech.

The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2005.

The award, given to either an individual or an institution, may recognize a single seminal work or a body of work, created during or continuing into the five years immediately preceding the award year. The body of work need not be limited to published texts, but can include course plans or actual courses and/or non-print publications such as visual media or hypermedia. More information and a list of previous winners can be found at

Currently serving officers and elected officials of LITA, members of the LITA/Library Hi Tech Award Committee, and employees and their immediate family of Emerald Press are ineligible.

Nominations must include the name(s) of the recipient(s), basis for nomination, and references to the body of work, and should be sent to Jeffrey G. Trzeciak, 21721 Mahon Dr., Southfield, MI 48075-7530.

The award will be presented at the LITA President's Program during the 2006 Annual Conference of the American Library Association in New Orleans.