LITA announces scholarship winners for 2005

Contact: Valerie Edmonds

Program Coordinator

For Immediate Release

May 25, 2005

LITA announces scholarship winners for 2005

CHICAGO - The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), sponsors scholarships jointly with four other organizations:, Sirsi, LSSI and OCLC, Inc. The scholarships are for master's level study, with an emphasis on library technology and/or automation, at a library school accredited by the ALA.

This year's winner of the LITA/Christian Larew Memorial scholarship ($3,000)sponsored by, is Margaret Lawrence, who will attend the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Graduate School. The winner of the LITA scholarship ($2,500) is Toshiba Burns-Johnson, who will study at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Information and Library Science. The LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship ($2,500) winner is Han Nguyen, who will pursue her studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.Andres E. Ciriello is the winner of the LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship ($3,000). Andres will pursue his studies at the University of Maryland.

Criteria for the scholarships include previous academic excellence, evidence of leadership potential, and a commitment to a career in library automation and information technology. Two of the scholarships, the LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship and LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, also require U.S citizenship and membership in one of four minority groups: American Indian or Alaskan Native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American, or Hispanic.

The scholarship winners will be honored at the LITA Awards Reception on Sunday, June 26, 2005 at the Intercontinental Chicago Hotel, Empire Ballroom, beginning at 3 p.m.