ALA councilors elected

Contact: Lois Ann Gregory-Wood

Council Secretariat

For Immediate Release

May 2, 2005

ALA councilors elected

CHICAGO - Thirty-three members have been elected to the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms.

The 2005-2008 Councilors-at-Large are:

  • Khafre K. Abif
  • Monika Antonelli
  • Toni Bernardi
  • Kathleen E. Bethel
  • Mary Biblo
  • Nick Buron
  • Audra Caplan
  • Barbara Cole
  • Diedre (Dee) Conkling
  • Julie A. Cummins
  • Kathy East
  • Randall Enos
  • Barbara A. Genco
  • Dee Gwaltney
  • Ling Hwey Jeng
  • Wei Jeng-Chu
  • Erlene Bishop Killeen
  • Margaret L. Kirkpatrick
  • Charles E. Kratz
  • Bonnie Kunzel
  • Kathy Lehman
  • Rory Litwin
  • Mary Long
  • Peter McDonald
  • Michael J. Miller
  • Toni Negro
  • Ana-Elba Pavon
  • Virginia Sanchez
  • Sherrie Schmidt
  • Barbara K. Stripling
  • Theresa A. Tobin
  • Lisa Von Drasek
  • Ann Carlson Weeks
The 2005-2007 Councilors-at-Large are:
  • David Loertscher
  • Jan Sanders
The 2005-2006 Councilor-at-Large is:
  • Sylvia Norton
Five other Councilors also have been elected for 2005-2008:
  • Diane Dates Casey, Association for Library collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)
  • Sue H. (Henderson) Mactavish, Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA)
  • Norman L. Maas, Public Library Association (PLA)
  • Christine M. Allen, Young Adult Library Services Association, (YALSA)
  • Courtney L. Young, New Members Round Table (NMRT)

ALCTS, LAMA, PLA and YALSA are divisions of the ALA.

The following Bylaws were approved:

  • ALA Bylaws Article II. Meetings. Section 6. Quorum, was amended to lower the quorum at ALA Membership Meetings from one-half of one percent (1/2%) of ALA personal members to seventy-five (75) voting members.
  • ALA Bylaws Article III. Nominations and Elections. Section 1(c), was amended to lower the number of nominees required to fill vacancies for members-at-large of council. This article now requires that the number of nominees to be lasted by the ALA Nominating Committee shall not be fewer than one-and-one-half times the anticipated number of member-at-large vacancies to be filled at the next election.

A total of 10, 490 votes were cast in the election. Council, Division and Round Table elections also were decided.

For complete election results, please visit: