Hayes and Neely receive 2005 ALTA/Gale Grant

Contact: Gretchen Kalwinski

Program Coordinator, ALTA


For Immediate Release

June 21, 2005

Hayes and Neely receive 2005 ALTA/Gale Grant

CHICAGO -- American Library Trustees and Advocates (ALTA) named Maureen Hayes and Ruby Neely as the recipients of 2005 ALTA/Gale Outstanding Trustee Grant. Established in 1990, this award provides $750 each to attend an ALA Annual Meeting for the first time to two public library trustees who have demonstrated qualitative interests and efforts in supportive service of the local public library.

Ruby Neely is a trustee at the Farmers Branch Manske Library in Farmers Branch, Texas. She has served on the library's board for five years and presently is serving as chairman.

Maureen Hayes is a trustee at the Fountaindale Public Library District in Bolingbrook, Ill. She also holds the position of the Bolingbrook Chamber Board President.

Both Hayes and Neely are looking forward to their first conference, which will afford them the opportunity to interact with trustees from different regions and compare notes on how their colleagues are handling funding, privacy, and legislative issues in their respective communities.

Made possible by an annual gift from Gale Research, Incorporated, the grant is administered by ALTA, a division of the American Library Association (ALA). A formal presentation to winners will be made at the ALTA Opening Session at the ALA Annual Conference.

More information about the ALTA/GALE Outstanding Trustee Conference Grant can be found on the ALTA Awards Web site at