2005 Marshall Cavendish Scholarship winner named

Beatrice Calvin

Communications Specialist


For Immediate Release

July 25, 2005

2005 Marshall Cavendish Scholarship winner named

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) has named Jennifer Wann of Florence, Miss. as the 2005 Marshall Cavendish Scholarship winner.

The $3,000 scholarship was established with a donation from the Marshall Cavendish Corporation in Tarrytown, N.Y., publishers of illustrated reference books for libraries. It is awarded to a person pursuing a master’s degree in library and information studies.

Wann’s first job after receiving a master’s in mass communications was a part-time position at the Des Plaines Public Library (Ill.). She says it was there that she discovered “a dynamic organization inhabited by smart, savvy professionals who loved what they were doing and were committed to serving the public good.” They were an inspiration to her.

Currently, Wann works at the Brandon Public Library. She says she considers herself a servant of every individual who walks through the doors of the library. She wants to provide them with the highest level of service possible, and feels she can accomplish this goal by attaining her master’s in library and information science.

Wann attends the University of Southern Mississippi.