ALA announces 2005 Stonewall Book award winner

Contact: Mary Callaghan “Cal” Zunt

Chair, 2005 Stonewall Book Awards

For Immediate Release

January 16, 2004

ALA announces 2005 Stonewall Book award winners

“The Master” and “Evolution’s Rainbow” top list

BOSTON - The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2005 Stonewall Book Awards. Colm Tóibín, author of “The Master: a Novel” (Scribner) is the winner of the Barbara Gittings Book Award in Literature, and Joan Roughgarden, biologist and author of “Evolution’s Rainbow: Diversity, Gender, and Sexuality in Nature and in People” (University of California Press) is the winner of the Israel Fishman Book Award for Nonfiction.

The announcement was made January 16 at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston, January 14-19. The awards will be presented to the winners at the 2005 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, June 23-29.

“The Master” is a fictionalized account of novelist Henry James at a pivotal point in his career. Based on extensive research, Tóibín’s imagined portrayal of James’ interior life is bold and illuminating. The novel exquisitely depicts James – one of the great novelists in the English language – capable of revealing an intimacy in his art which he could never express in his life. “The Master” also was a finalist for the Mann Booker Prize. This is Tóibín’s fifth novel. He resides in Dublin.

“Evolution’s Rainbow” examines core tenets of evolutionary theory. This groundbreaking work challenges long-held views of Darwinian thought about gender and sexuality, and the scientific, medical and cultural assumptions on which they are based. The book is written for a general audience in a highly readable style. Roughgarden is a professor of biological sciences at Stanford University.

The 2005 Stonewall honor books in literature are:

“I Am My Own Wife: A Play” by Doug Wright (Faber & Faber)

“The Line of Beauty” by Allan Hollinghurst (Bloomsbury)

“Luna: a Novel” by Julie Anne Peters (Megan Tingley Books, an imprint of Little, Brown and Company)

“The Seahorse Year” by Stacy D’Erasmo (Houghton Mifflin)

The 2005 Stonewall honor books in nonfiction are:

“Beyond Shame: Reclaiming the Abandoned History of Radical Gay Sexuality” by Patrick Moore (Beacon Press)

“Both: A Portrait in Two Parts” by Douglas Crase (Pantheon)

“Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim” by David Sedaris (Little, Brown)

“Warrior Poet: a Biography of Audre Lorde” by Alexis DeVeaux (W.W. Norton)

Members of the 2004 ALA Stonewall Book Award Committee are: Chair Mary Callaghan “Cal” Zunt, Cleveland Public Library; Robert L. Jaquay, Albany, N.Y.; Cecil Hixon, New York Public Library; Jeffrey Beall, Denver; Norman Eriksen, Brooklyn Public Library, N.Y.; Roland Hansen, Columbia College, Chicago; Robin Imhof, University of the Pacific, Stockton, Calif.; Michael J. Miller, Queens College / CUNY; Teresa Y. Neely, Ph.D., Baltimore; K.R. Roberto, University of Georgia Libraries; Lindsey Schell, University of Texas, Austin; and Barbara Stevens, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

For additional information on the Stonewall Book Awards, please visit: