Gagne, Reilly win 2005 Carnegie Medal for “The Dot”

Contacts: Larra Clark/Macey Morales

ALA Media Relations

For Immediate Release

January 17, 2005

Gagne, Reilly win 2005 Carnegie Medal for “The Dot”

BOSTON – Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly of Weston Woods Studios, producers of “The Dot” in association with FableVision, are the 2005 recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children’s Video. The video is based on the book by Peter H. Reynolds and is narrated by Thora Birch, with music by Jerry Dale McFadden. The award was announced January 17, 2005, during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Boston, January 14-19.

Established with the support of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Carnegie Medal honors an outstanding American video production for children released during the previous year. The award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of ALA.

Frustrated artist Vashti is ready to give up when a dot – simple but complete – takes her to new artistic heights. Vashti’s talent bursts into life, joyfully encircling her and framing each canvas. Like a drop of paint from a watercolor brush on paper, Vashti’s teacher’s compassionate encouragement spreads to her young artist.

Just as Peter H. Reynolds in his book challenges educators to dare students to make their marks, the character of Vashti perpetuates the circle of learning by inspiring a young boy who “can’t draw a straight line with a ruler.” McFadden’s fluid jazz provides a counterpoint to narrator Birch’s masterful evocation of Vashti’s character.

“The warmth and simplicity of Reynolds’ minimalist art is beautifully enlivened in this animated adaptation,” said Committee Chair Elizabeth Simmons.

Members of the 2005 Carnegie Award Committee are: Chair Elizabeth Simmons, New Castle County Library System, Wilmington, Del.; Josephine Caisse, Deschutes Public Library System, Bend, Ore.; Timothy Capehart, Dayton Metro Library, Ohio; Ann Crewdson, King County Library System, SeaTac, Wash.; Carole Jean DeJardin, Appleton Public Library, Appleton, Wisc; Martha Gronniger, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, Kan.; Angela J. Reynolds, Washington County Cooperative Library Services, Hillsboro, Ore.; Jennifer Smith, Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights, Ky.; and Gwen Taylor, Lewis Clark State College, Lewiston, Idaho.

More information about the Carnegie Medal can be found at For information on other ALA literary awards, please visit