Donald J. Sager receives 2005 Lippincott Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

For Immediate Release

February 24, 2005

Donald J. Sager receives 2005 Lippincott Award

CHICAGO - Donald J. Sager is the 2005 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Lippincott Award, which recognizes an individual for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship. The award was founded by the late Joseph W. Lippincott and consists of a citation and $1,000 donated by Lippincott’s grandson, Joseph W. Lippincott, III.

Sager’s professional career spans more than 40 years of dedicated service within the library profession, serving in such diverse roles as public library administrator, teacher, speaker, author, publisher and indefatigable volunteer on behalf of libraries and librarians. Sager is president of Gossage Sager Associates, a library recruitment company. He was the publisher and editor of Highsmith Press.

"I recruited Don to be the first publisher because I have always admired his reputation for integrity under pressure and his uncompromising loyalty to the library profession and those it serves," said Duncan Highsmith, chairman, Highsmith, Inc.

Sager is a prolific writer and contributor to library literature. He has authored several publications, articles, and book chapters and was a contributing editor to Public Libraries for 10 years.

"The Joseph W. Lippincott jury is thrilled with the choice of Don Sager as this year's recipient," said Ann Symons, award chair. "Don's long history of service to the Association through his participation and writing is a vehicle for the expression of library values. He personally lives the values of librarianship and has inspired many librarians throughout his career. We are pleased that he joins a list of distinguished Lippincott winners."

Sager is an active member of the American Library Association (ALA). He is a former Councilor-at-large and Past President of the Public Library Association (PLA). He also is a member of the Association for Library Trustees & Advocates (ALTA) and International Relations Round Table (IRRT). Sager was the ALA Representative to the White House. Conference on Libraries and Information Science and chaired ALA Core Values Task Force. He has won numerous awards including the Office of Intellectual Freedom/Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor.

The Lippincott Award will be presented Tuesday, June 28, during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.