Four members elected to ALA Executive Board

Contact: Elizabeth Dreazen
ALA Governance Office
For Immediate Release
February 4, 2005

Four members elected to ALA Executive Board

(CHICAGO) Francis J. Buckley, Jr., Terri G. Kirk, June A. Pinnell-Stephens and Patricia H. Smith have been elected to serve on the American Library Association (ALA) Executive Board.
The new board members were elected by the ALA Council in a vote taken at the 2005 ALA Midwinter Meeting held January 14-19 in Boston.

Buckley, Pinnell-Stephens and Smith will each serve three-year terms beginning in June 2005 and concluding in June 2008.
Kirk was elected to complete the unexpired term of board member Michael Gorman, who was elected ALA president-elect.
Kirk took her seat on the board immediately upon election and will serve through June 2006.

Buckley is the former U.S. Superintendent of Documents and has served as chair of the Depository Library Council to the Public Printer.
Currently a member of the board of directors of the Freedom to Read Foundation and the District of Columbia Library Association, Buckley also has served as president of the Michigan Library Association and as a member of the board of trustees of OCLC and the board of directors of the Detroit Literacy Council.
Buckley has been an active ALA member throughout his library career - serving on numerous ALA and division committees, as chair of the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) and on the ALA Council for several terms.
He received a master's in library science from the University of Michigan.

Kirk is a high school librarian at Reidland High School in Paducah, Ky. She is a past president and current communications chair of the Kentucky Library Association; past president and current technology and fall conference chair of the Kentucky School Media Association; and a member of the National Education Association and Kentucky Education Association. An active member of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), a division of ALA, Kirk has served on the AASL Executive Board and has represented AASL on the ALA Council since 2003.
Kirk received the Kentucky School Media Association Outstanding School Librarian Award in 2001.
She is a graduate of Western Kentucky University and received a master's degree from Murray State University.

June A. Pinnell-Stephens is the collection services manager at the Fairbanks North Star Borough Public Library in Alaska.
Pinnell-Stephens has been an active member of the Freedom to Read Foundation, serving as treasurer, trustee and president.
She also has served as president of the Alaska Library Association and as president and secretary of the Pacific Northwest Library Association.
Pinnell-Stephens has held numerous committee assignments in ALA and has been an ALA Councilor-at-Large since 2000.
She is the recipient of many awards, including the Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award, the Freedom to Read Foundation's Roll of Honor Award and the Pacific Northwest Library Association's President's Distinguished Service Award.
Pinnell-Stephens was named the Alaska Civil Liberties Union Citizen Activist of the Year in 1998.
She received a master's degree in library science from the University of Washington.

Smith is executive director of the Texas Library Association (TLA). She has served as vice-chairman of the Texas Society of Association Executives and has been an active member of numerous other associations, including the Freedom to Read Foundation, Texas Freedom Network and the Texas Civil Liberties Union.
Her ALA activities include service on many committees and task forces, four terms as an ALA Councilor-at-Large, one term as Texas Chapter Councilor, and a previous term on the ALA Executive Board (1995-1999).
An advisory board member of the University of North Texas School of Library and Information Science, Smith is a recipient of the TLA Distinguished Service Award and was named TLA Librarian of the Year in 1989.
She received her master's degree in library science from the University of Texas at Austin.

The ALA Executive Board manages the affairs of the association.
It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body.
For more information on the Executive Board, please visit