RUSA announces Awards Recognition Reception

Contact: Elleen Hardy

Marketing Specialist


For Immediate Release

December 13, 2005

RUSA announces Awards Recognition Reception

CHICAGO - The Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) is pleased to announce the third annual Awards Recognition Reception on January 22, 2006, from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in San Antonio. The reception will be held in the Olivares/Goraz Room of the Westin Riverwalk Hotel.

Come join colleagues and members of the publishing industry at a cocktail reception where award announcements include:

  • Notable Books List

    Notable Book Council will announce this year's "Notable Books List." The list, also known as "The List for America's Readers," is comprised of 25 works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry books selected for their significant contribution to the expansion of knowledge, or for the pleasure they provide to adult readers.

  • Sophie Brody Medal

    The Sophie Brody Award Committee will announce the first ever "Sophie Brody Medal" recipient. The award is sponsored by Arthur Brody and the Brodart Foundation, and is given to the U.S. author of the most distinguished contribution to Jewish literature (fiction and/or non-fiction) for adults published in the United States in the preceding year.

  • Dartmouth Medal

    The Dartmouth Award Committee will announce the "Dartmouth Medal" recipient. The award is donated by Dartmouth College, and is given for creating current reference works of outstanding quality and significance.

  • Best Reference Sources

    The "Best Reference Sources" is a recommended list of the best reference publications for small and medium-sized academic and public libraries. The annotated list of selected outstanding reference works is published annually in the May issue of
    American Libraries. The list also is included in the
    Reference & User Services Quarterly (RUSQ) and posted on the RUSA Web site. The Outstanding Reference Sources Committee will announce the "Best Reference Sources."

  • Louis Shores-Greenwood Publishing Group Award

    The Louis Shores-Greenwood Publishing Group Award is a citation and cash award of $3,000, donated by the Greenwood Publishing Group, given to an individual, team or organization to recognize excellence in the reviewing of books and other materials for libraries.

RUSA, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is devoted to supporting the delivery of reference/information services to all groups and of general library services to adults. Its 5,000 members represent all types of libraries.