Nominations sought for 2006 ASCLA scholarship, award

Contact: Eileen Hardy

Marketing Specialist

For Immediate Release

August 23, 2005

Nominations sought for 2006 ASCLA scholarship, awards

CHICAGO - Each year, the Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) awards program recognizes outstanding achievement by librarians and libraries for significant current or past achievements such as publications, program development and leadership in the profession. Awards may include a citation and/or a cash award.

ASCLA awards may be made to individuals or groups. Depending on the terms of the award, recipients need not necessarily be ASCLA members. The application deadline for the following awards is December 15, 2005; the scholarship deadline is March 1, 2006.

For more information, visit the Awards Web page on the ASCLA Web site ( and/or contact Eileen Hardy at the ASCLA Office, 800/545-2433, ext. 4398 or 312/280-4398, e-mail: The chair of the ASCLA Awards Committee is Ruth O'Donnell, e-mail:

  • Exceptional Service Award is a citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients; to the homebound; to medical, nursing, and other professional staff in hospitals; and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research of experimental projects.

  • Leadership Achievement Award is a citation presented to recognize leadership and achievement in the following areas of activity: consulting, multitype library cooperation, and state library development. The award recognizes sustained activity that has been characterized by professional growth and effectiveness, and has enhanced the status of these areas of activity.

  • Professional Achievement Award is a citation presented to one or more ASCLA members for professional achievement within the areas of consulting, networking, statewide service and programs. The criteria include: record of accomplishment in the development or promotion of statewide library services and programs or services and programs of multitype library organizations; contributions that improve and enhance the status of state library agencies or multitype library organizations; evidence of initiative in dealing with issues and challenges facing state library agencies or multitype library organizations.

  • Service Award is a citation presented to recognize an ASCLA personal member for outstanding service and leadership to the division. The award recognizes sustained leadership and exceptional service through participation in activities that have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of ASCLA; and representation of ASCLA to other appropriate organizations, institutions or governmental agencies.

  • ASCLA/KLAS/NOD Award is a $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project that successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities. The award can be for a specific service(s) program or for a library that has made their total services more accessible through changing physical and/or attitudinal barriers. Donated by Keystone Systems.

  • Francis Joseph Campbell Award is an award consisting of a citation and a medal presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance. Administered by the Libraries Serving Special Populations Section. Committee chair is Rahye L. Puckett, e-mail:

  • Century Scholarship provides up to $2,500 to fund services or accommodation for a library school student or students with disabilities admitted to an ALA-accredited library school. The scholarship will fund services or accommodations that are either not provided by law or otherwise by the university that will enable the student or students to successfully complete the course of study for a master's degree or doctorate in library science and become a library or information studies professional.

Applicants must provide medical documentation of their disability or disabilities and the services and/or accommodations the applicant would need for their studies, demonstrate the need for financial assistance and be citizens of the United States or Canada. Administered by the Century Scholarship Jury Committee. Committee chair is Simon J.M. Healey, e-mail: For more information, visit the Awards Web page on the ASCLA Website (, and then click information for the Century Scholarship.