Three members elected to ALA Executive Board

Contact: Elizabeth Dreazen


For Immediate Release

February 7, 2003

Three members elected to ALA Executive Board

Michael A. Golrick, Michael Gorman and James R. Rettig have been elected to serve on the American Library Association (ALA) Executive Board. Their three-year terms begin in June 2003. The new board members were elected by the ALA Council in a vote taken at the 2003 ALA Midwinter Meeting, held January 24-29 in Philadelphia.

Golrick is City Librarian at the Bridgeport (Conn.) Public Library. An ALA member since 1976, Golrick has served on numerous association committees and task forces and was chair of both the ALA Membership Committee and the Special Presidential Task Force on Membership Meetings. He has been an active member of the Public Library Association (PLA), the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). Golrick is a past president of both the Connecticut Library Association and the Southwestern Connecticut Library Council and also is a member of the New England Library Association. He holds a M.S.L.S. from the University of Illinois and an M.B.A. from the University of Arizona.

Gorman is Dean of Library Services at California State University in Fresno. He has served as chair of the ALA Pay Equity Committee and as a member of the ALA Resolutions Committee. He is an active member and past president of the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) and an active member of the California Library Association, where he has served on numerous committees. Gorman has received many awards and honors, including the 1992 Melvil Dewey Award and the 2001 Highsmith Library Literature Award. Gorman received his library education in Great Britain at the Ealing School of Librarianship. He is both an Associate and a Fellow of the (British) Library Association.

Rettig is University Librarian at the University of Richmond Boatwright Memorial Library in Richmond, Va. Rettig has served as chair of the ALA Committee on Organization and the ALA Publishing Committee and as a member of many additional committees and task forces. He has been an active member of several ALA divisions, including the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA) and RUSA, where he served as president in 1992-93. Rettig is the author of numerous publications on reference services and has received several awards for his contributions to library literature. Rettig received an M.A. in English from Marquette University and an M.A.L.S. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The ALA's Executive Board manages the affairs of the association. It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body. More information on the Executive Board is available

ACRL, ASCLA, LAMA, LITA, PLA and RUSA are divisions of the ALA.