ACRL's 2004 awards program recognizes outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

Contact: Megan Bielefeld

Program Coordinator, ACRL


For Immediate Release

September 26, 2003

ACRL’s 2004 awards program recognizes outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

For more than three-quarters of a century, the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) has been committed to celebrating the achievements of academic and research librarians through the presentation of awards, grants and fellowships.
With almost $30,000 donated by generous corporate sponsors annually, ACRL has and will continue to nominate, select and honor the very best in academic librarianship.

Members are an integral part of ACRL’s successful awards program. Please consider nominating colleagues who have influenced your thinking and your growth as an academic librarian. We urge members to nominate colleagues whose work you admire, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Member nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished.
Award nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by December 5, 2003.

Outstanding achievement and distinguished service awards are as follows:

  • Excellence in Academic Libraries Award (sponsored by Blackwell’s Book Services) recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of their institutions. A $3,000 awarded is given for each type-of-library award ( e.g. college, community college, and university).
  • Academic or Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services) awards $3,000, and recognizes an outstanding member of the academic or research library profession.
  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, ALCTS, LAMA, LITA) provides a $2,000 award, and recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, development, and research.
  • Marta Lange/CQ Award (sponsored by Congressional Quarterly, Inc.) provides a $1,000 award and recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.
  • Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (sponsored by Elsevier Science, Ltd.) recognizes and awards $1,000 to an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.
  • Instruction Section Innovation in Instruction Award (sponsored by Lexis-Nexis) honors librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities. Each recipient will receive $3,000.
  • Community College Learning Resources Leadership/Library Achievement Awards (sponsored by
    EBSCO Information Services) recognize outstanding achievement in library programs or leadership. The honor will be presented to two recipients, who will each receive an award of
  • Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award, a citation of merit that honors outstanding contributions to education and behavioral sciences librarianship through accomplishments and service to the profession.
  • Women’s Studies Section Awards for Achievement (sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc. and Routledge) recognize career or significant achievements in the area of women’s studies librarianship. The award will honor two recipients, and each will receive $1,000.

Research awards are as follows:

  • Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (sponsored by Thomson ISI
    ) awards $1,500 to assist doctoral students in the field with their dissertation research.
  • Samuel Lazerow Fellowship (sponsored by Thomson ISI) awards $1,000 cash for travel and writing in the fields of acquisition or technical services.
  • Coutts Nijhoff West European Specialist Study Grant (sponsored by Coutts Nijhoff International) supports research pertaining to Western European studies, librarianship, or the book trade.

Publication awards are as follows:

  • Katherine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by Katherine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab,
    American Book Prices Current) recognizes outstanding catalogues published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions.
  • Instruction Section Publication of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the last two years.
  • The Oberly Award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.
    Applications for the 2005 award are now being accepted.

Informational flyers, complete with submission procedures, past winners, criteria and contact information, are available in the awards section of the ACRL Web site at, or by contacting ACRL Program Coordinator Megan Bielefeld at (312) 280-2514.