W.Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award recipient named

Contact: Cheryl Malden, Goverance Program Officer



For Immediate Release

May 29, 2003

W.Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award recipient named

James Brady’s book, “Warning of War,” published by St. Martin’s Press is the winner of the W. Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award for Excellence in Military Fiction.
The award was given to the best military novel written in the year 2002.

The W.Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war.
The $5,000 award and citation, donated by author W.Y. Boyd, recognizes the service of American veterans and military personnel, and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction.

“The jury selected James Brady's “Warning of War: the Marines of North China” as the best military novel published during 2002 for its excellent writing, and its historical depiction of the vivid portrayal of wartime China during 1941 and 1942”, said Chair Robert Schnare.

Brady was a Marine during the Korean War where he commanded a combat platoon.
He captured these experiences in his highly praised memoir, “The Coldest War,” and the
New York Times bestselling novel “The Marines of Autumn.”
He has weekly columns in
Advertising Age and
Parade magazine.

The W.Y. Boyd Award will be presented Tuesday,
June 24, during the ALA/CLA joint Annual Conference in Toronto.