rla Hayden leads American Library Association

Contact: Larra Clark, Press Officer



For Immediate Release

June 25, 2003

Carla Hayden leads American Library Association

Carla Hayden, executive director of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, became president of the Chicago-based American Library Association (ALA) June 24, 2003, at the close of ALA’s Annual Conference in Toronto.
She will serve a one-year term.

Founded in 1876, ALA has more than 64,000 members, and is the voice of American libraries and the people who depend on them.

Hayden’s presidency will focus on equity of access in libraries, one of the core values of ALA.

“Equity of access is not only one of the basic tenets of our profession but it encompasses all of our basic and pressing contemporary concerns as well,” said Hayden.
“We need to recommit ourselves to the ideal of providing equal access to everyone, anywhere, anytime and in any format, particularly those groups who are already underserved, such as residents of rural and urban America, minorities, senior citizens and the disabled.”

Hayden has served as chair of the ALA’s Committee on Accreditation and the ALA’s Spectrum Initiative. She also is a member of the Black Caucus of ALA (BCALA) and the Public Library Association (PLA) and the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), divisions of ALA.

Prior to going to Baltimore in 1993, Hayden served as first deputy commissioner and chief librarian of the Chicago Public Library and assistant professor in the School of Library and Information Science of the University of Pittsburgh. She is currently an adjunct faculty member at the College of Library and Information Services, University of Maryland at College Park.

Hayden was named Librarian of the Year by
Library Journal in 1995 and was recognized as one of Maryland's Top 100 Women by
Warfield's Business Record in 1996. She also has received the Legacy of Literacy Award from the DuBois Circle of Baltimore, the Andrew White Medal from Loyola College and the President's Medal from The Johns Hopkins University.