2003 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship winner named

Contact: Beatrice Calvin, HRDR Communications Officer


For Immediate Release

July 18, 2003

2003 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship winner named

The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce Diane E. Wallace, Brockton, Mass., is the recipient of the 2003 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship.

The $3,000 scholarship, named for Leisner, an active ALA member and former member of the ALA Council, is awarded to a library support staff member pursuing a master’s degree in library and information studies.
The scholarship was established with funds donated by Leisner.

Wallace will be attending Simmons College.

Wallace’s involvement with libraries started when she was very young when she rode the bus with her grandmother to the public library.
Today that public library will name a study room in its newly renovated facilities in memory of her grandmother.

“I can’t ever remember a time in my life when I wasn’t associated with a library,” said Wallace.

For more than 28 years, Wallace has worked as the coordinator of library services at the Brockton Hospital Medical Library.
She played a key role in raising funds for the library and says, “I learned that I’d do almost anything for the library.”
She hopes that her MLS will help her acquire a broader range of skills with which to better serve the people who depend on libraries.

Wallace was recognized in June during the ALA Annual Conference in Toronto.