Freedom to Read Foundation announces Nominating Committee

Contact: Jonathan Kelley



For Immediate Release

December 12, 2003

Freedom to Read Foundation announces Nominating Committee

The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) has announced the Nominating Committee for its April 2004 election. Chairing the committee is Ginnie Cooper, executive director of the Brooklyn, N.Y., Public Library. Other committee members include: John W. Berry, executive director, NILRC, River Forest, Ill.; and Joyce Meskis, owner of the Tattered Cover Book Store in Denver, Colo. The Nominating Committee will oversee the election process for five positions now available on the 2004-2005 Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustees.

Nominations are now being sought for the April 1-May 1, 2004 for Board of Trustees election. The nominees elected will serve a two-year term, beginning with the American Library Association's (ALA) 2004 Annual Conference, Orlando, Fla., and ending with the 2006 ALA Annual Conference, New Orleans.

Only members of the FTRF are eligible to seek election to the organization's Board or Trustees. Nominations should be sent to: Freedom to Read Foundation, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Friday, January 30, 2004.

For information regarding FTRF Board of Trustees nomination requirements, please contact Jonathan Kelley, 312-280-4226 or

FTRF was founded in 1969 by ALA members to promote and defend the right of individuals to freely express ideas and to access information in libraries and elsewhere. The Foundation enacts this plan through the disbursement of grants to individuals and groups, primarily for the purpose of aiding them in litigation; and through direct participation in litigation dealing with freedom of speech and of the press.

For addition information regarding FTRF please visit